Writers Conference


4th Annual Writers Conference
July 18-20, 2008-Grapevine, Texas

A forum for journalists, writers, readers, students, educators and the general public to listen to, be inspired by and discuss literary nonfiction in all its forms with some of the most talented in the genre.
The Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Writers Conference


July 18-20, 2008 (Friday 6 p.m.-Sunday-12:30 p.m.)
Conference opens on Friday, July 18, 6 p.m. with a Welcome To Texas Dinner. Lecture follows featuring Bob Shacochis, one of America’s most acclaimed storytellers.

See the complete schedule: PDF / DOC

For complete speaker bios click here.

  • N. Scott Momaday-1969 Pulitzer Prize Winner
  • Bob Shacochis, National Book Award Winner
  • Candice Millard, River of Doubt
  • John Burnett, NPR correspondent
  • Stella Chavez, writer, The Dallas Morning News
  • Susannah Charleson, The Scent of the Missing
  • Pam Colloff, writer, Texas Monthly
  • Lee Hancock, enterprise reporter, The Dallas Morning News
  • Nick Heil, The Dark Summit
  • Tim Madigan, writer, The Star-Telegram
  • Cathleen Medwick, contributing editor at O, the Oprah Magazine
  • Paul Meyer, writer, The Dallas Morning News
  • Ben Montgomery, writer, St. Petersburg Times
  • David Patterson, senior editor, Henry Holt & Co.
  • Brian Sweany, articles editor, Texas Monthly
  • Wright Thompson, ESPN.com
  • Andy Van De Voorde, Village Voice Media
  • Ken Wells, senior editor, Portfolio magazine
  • Alexandra Wolfe, writer, Portfolio magazine


Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
Conference Code: 3MA
Conference Room Rate: $120.00
1800 Highway 26 East
Grapevine, Texas
Sorry, no refunds. Fee information can be found here.
Scholarships for high school and college students-includes registration fee, meals and two nights lodging at the Hilton DFW Lakes.  Co-sponsored by The Dallas Morning News and the Mayborn Graduate School of Journalism.

Deadline to apply: July 1, 2008

Six cash prizes totaling $12,000 will be presented to the top article/essay winners.  The winning manuscript will receive a $3,000 cash prize and a provisional book contract with UNT Press. Click the links below for details.

Writing Contest and Workshops

Article Application Form

See more information about the
provisional book contract.
The Writer’s Garret is closing registration for the Mayborn’s Pre-Conference Workshhops on April 29. The workshops, conducted by writers Julianne McCullagh and Talmage Boston, will be held at the Writers’ Garret on May 3, 17 and 31. See details.

The Writers’ League of Texas also offers a pre-conference workshop specifically for writers submitting work to the Mayborn Conference. See details.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: